The Chase


Don’t be fooled. Don’t let yourself be taken
By thoughts or false pretense.
For I am who I am–I cannot be someone else.

What I am is pale skin, warm flesh and blood;
My hair, brown. My teeth, white.
My face on Monday mornings–a sight.

But that’s what I am, so different from who..
Who am I? And who are you??
Like mass amnesia–we haven’t a clue.

Born groping for an answer,
To a question without name.
So we wonder about what’s round us, and shun the inner pain.

Like a puppy chasing its tail,
Or a detective on the case.
It doesn’t matter, it couldn’t matter.. All we are is a face.

So like a puppet, or a parrot..or any creature that repeats!
“I am who I am–” and who I am hates me.

21 thoughts on “The Chase

  1. deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

    So by allowing ourselves to be taken by thoughts or false pretence, is it so much that we have too much control (to let this happen) or that we have lost all ounces of it (for we have succumbed to the allowance)?

    • Maybe it’s the massive headache I still have but O.o What??
      Please be a sweetheart and ask the question again…in simpler words. That question went straight over my head.

      • deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

        Oh dear I’m sorry! :) I always seem to challenge everything. Fear not, I can drop it!

      • No no! Please don’t drop the question..I’m sure it was a good one. But could you rephrase it so my addled mind can handle it?
        *swearing to never drink another beer*

      • deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

        Ooooo Oki doki then. Now this is a challenge for me! Just saying, you don’t have to answer it now.

        Right.

        So reading the first bit;

        Don’t be fooled. Don’t let yourself be taken
        By thoughts or false pretense.

        There are two ways of observing this aspect of human nature. (Because it happens.)

        1. We have too much control, because we’ve let ourselves immerse in these thoughts and false things.
        2. We don’t have enough control, because we couldn’t stop ourselves from doing so.

        Gah, I think this was even more confusing. I tried being clever by spacing the comment out. It didn’t work.
        O.O

      • Haha, no: I think it makes sense now.

        Is your question: “Why are people taken by their thoughts or by false pretense?”

        If that is your question, my answer would be: “In theory, people are taken because they WANT to be. Everyone is born with a trusting nature..we want to believe what you say because it is nature. BUT…if trust is broken enough…we develop a suspicious nature which questions everything at the surface. Finding the balance is difficult. So BOTH of your observations are accurate: Those who are always suspicious have too much control over their ability to trust; and those who are always trusting don’t have enough control.”

        I think I just confused the hell outa everybody.

      • deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

        I’m not confused. Skeptical, perhaps, but certainly not confused.
        So would you prefer to have more or less control, then? If you don’t wish to answer that, don’t bother. I just wonder.
        I personally would want more, because then perhaps, I wouldn’t get hurt easily. That’s debatable though.

      • My real, honest answer is that I wish I was an ignorant fool. I know it contradicts everything I write–but truly ignorance is BLISS! Ignorant about deep things, ignorant about the trouble in the world, ignorant about liars, just pure ignorance..

        It sounds strange, but think about it! Trusting everyone at face value and never having to weigh the “believable”. Like permanent “holiday”..

        In summary I would want less control. Because I am lazy.

      • deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

        Ah! but ignorance can only last for so long….
        Trust is like a book. Sometimes you want to slam it shut and go send it back to the bookshop.
        DAMMIT!

      • Correct! Ignorance is temporary..but an ignorant “fool” is ignorant forever. They never learn. And usually they die early. But to be one!

        Sadly you can never send the book away. Here is the core problem with trust: it is always coupled with fear. They are the opposite sides of the coin..and fear is the crutch which holds many people from wonderful life experiences and relationships.
        Forget the fear. Consider it dust…let go of your crutch and just TRUST! (or something like that..I forget the lyrics)

      • deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

        CHERISH……????????
        ASDFGHJSKWJSJDJJDJWJWJW WHAT *mind gone kaboot*
        NEVAAAA

      • deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

        Oh God.

        I’ve lost here, haven’t i.
        *cue emotional violin music* SOMEONE GET ME THE TISSUES I’M GONNA CRY

      • deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

        YOU’VE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME.
        LIKE. YOU CAN’T DO THAT.
        YOU. CANNOT. JUST. NO. NO. Then again. I have won every other time, so I think it’s rather kind of me to let you win just once…..

      • deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

        Oh, how childish this conversation grew….

        *cackles*
        Fine, fine. Have your moment..XD

Leave a Reply

