Battle Suits


When life is shaping up to be another day in Armageddon, I have different ways of preparing. There are the obvious preparations like eating healthy and dressing for the occasion; then there are the more obscure things like mental preparation and adorning your battle suit. Probably sounds silly, but over the years I have pieced together a “battle suit” that really helps when life becomes difficult. It’s also a staple for me…when my family, friends, or roomates see me in this suit they know to tread softly.

So what’s my battle suit? Bare feet, plain cargo shorts and bright Hawaiian shirt. If you were to see me sitting cross-legged somewhere..yup, that’s my battle stance. Silly and strange? Yes…but believe it or not it helps. On a mental level it helps to associate certain things with strength, so when the battle comes you will be more prepared.

Writing this post got me thinking–while the original title was “My Battle Suit”, I’m curious if others do something similar? Do you have a battle suit? Maybe a sentimental scarf, special shoes (girls, high-heels?), or actual plate armor?

I’d love to read what you think!

20 thoughts on “Battle Suits

  1. imjustadreamer says:

    My battle suit is probably my smile.

    I’ve faced a lot of things smiling. (Maybe the Joker from Batman has similar issues as yours truly?) I grew up with the idea that if people tear you down, don’t show it and you’ll have beat them much more than if you had fought back. I try reaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaally hard to smile through difficult times, haha. It’s weird, I know. But it helps.

  2. deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

    Just looking at the first line had led me to make an assumption.
    [Unwisely.]

    Although, you did say later on how you’ve pieced together a battle suit, but OVER THE YEARS. I shall use this to back my reasoning up.

    You see, it felt like I was reading a “sigh,” a casual one, as if each day is as positively hellish as both the preceding, and the succeeding one. You’re a pro; accustomed to each obstacle, perhaps, even treating them like hurdles…! Practise makes perfect, too.
    Doesn’t the battle suit ever grow old, worn out and jagged round the edges? And since you’ve found your place, does the battle suit become lighter, with the need for it less prominent each day, because everything – your surroundings, environment etc – is a no more a novelty in your eyes?

    Eh.
    You’ll have to excuse my comment. I saw this post a few days ago, and typed out a few responses. They were all much more rubbish than this one, I can assure you.

    Futile, I tell you. My response is futile.
    *disappointed face*

    • OK..take a few days off and everyone posts twice a day a minimum of 1000 words and I’m over here huffing and puffing trying to strangle my tablet.
      *take a breathe and respond to some comments*

      Well, I anticipate that each day will be hell. But there are a few days when I KNOW it will be worse than hell..just a day to parallel Armageddon. That is when I need my battle suit.

      Does the battle suit become tattered and worn? Keep in mind that I was not being figurative–I LITERALLY have cargo shorts and Hawaiian shirts. So when they get old I buy new ones. You also asked if the need for the suit lessens with each battle. Actually the contrary–for me each battle with my battle suit reminds me of how much I need it during hardship.

      C’mon..you probably have some object that helps you through difficult times? I bet it is your tea mug.

      • deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

        HA! *tries to stop laughing! but fails miserably*
        Ahh, just miss out my posts (trust me. They’re NOT worth it. Especially how they’re all gooey…and I decided to express my sadness over the ending of love week IN LATIN.)
        Ah, so if they’re so readily replace-able, I assume finding your size and fit and all that malarkey isn’t difficult, so really, it’s a common trend here. Out with the old, in with the new? Are the suits as valued as one would think? I’m reading too much into this.
        I didn’t think you’d be as reliant on it as you are; it’s quite interesting! :)
        Nope. I don’t think I have one..
        Plus, mugs get chipped pretty easily.

      • Really? Ah well..you are probably a stronger person than me then. :) I dodge and sneak about complicated issues like snake in bramble–and when I finally meet an obstacle face to face I draw strength from mundane objects like clothing.

        Meanwhile Miss Z is over here taking on the whole raw world with her bare fists. *gulp* so manly…

      • deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

        Manly? MANLY? OK? Might I remind you that I am in fact a girl? *shakes head in disappointment* dear oh dear.
        I only wonder one thing about you and what makes you happy. So.. how would you react if a piece of heaven were to come along and eat you right up..

      • deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

        Don’t dodge this one!!!
        You know what I mean. As in, you’re so ready for hell each day. What happens when there’s a novel piece of heaven thrown into the mix? Something that makes you smile, AT LEAST.

        Reason, here!

      • Probably not to most people..but I’ve noticed you push for other’s happiness while withdrawing yourself from the topic. You even limit the consumption of your FAVORITE beverage. It’s like your PUNISHING yourself.

      • deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

        Seeing others happy makes me happy. I take it that’s a pleasant thought….
        Meh. Why not sit back and watch the show; I can chuck some roses on stage, sip tea and cheer.
        True..it’s discipline, though, not punishment.

Leave a Reply

